Sign in to follow this  
Guest Kaur

Sukhmani Sahib In House

Guest Kaur

Hi

I am hoping to hold a Sukhmani Sahib paath at our new house soon to receive Guru Ji's blessings. I have never done this before and so have a few etiquette-related queries. I would be grateful if anyone has the answers or could point me in the right direction.

How is the SGGS Ji brought to and taken from the house? Does someone from the house need to carry the SGGS Ji or will the Granthi Ji do this?

What rules are they regarding having Guru Ji in the house? I assume there should be no alcohol/meat/eggs in the house and that the house should be clean.

As for the langar and Karah prashad, should this be cooked in the house or in the Gurdwara and then brought over to the house?

Many thanks in advance

Hi penji ask the gurdwara they will advise as to what to do.

Some things that may help:

1. Clean and vacuum the house

2. Good ventilation, open windows doors to reduce the newly painted smell.

3. Clean bathroom toilets, place soap and clean towels.

4. No shoes in house, if there is access through back of house to garden allow sangat through that way, so the shoes don't get in the way near the front door if there is not space.

5. No obstructions in the room where Maharaj ji will be, we had some vases of flowers near them, but that's ur choice.

6. No meat, eggs, alcohol, cigarettes.

7. Make sure all cover their heads.

8. Make sure sangat listen to Sukhmani Sahib ji instead of being in other rooms.

9. Be present yourselves too as much as you can in presence of Maharaj ji. And be there for ardas, as sometimes one forgets trying to prepare langar.

Don't take tension, but do in accordance to gurmat. And enjoy the day, Maharaj ji will be the best guest you will have, King of Kings will be coming to ur house, so make the most if it and listen with love and to their blessings. With Gurujis grace all will go well.

Sukhmani Sahib ji , consoler of the mind.

These links may also help: